Jim Mulhall

Mulhall_Jim-Political Consulting

Managing Director
Washington, D.C.


Jim Mulhall brings two decades of experience in politics, governing and strategic communications to SKDKnickerbocker.

The 2008 cycle began for Jim with a tough special election in which first-time candidate Bill Foster took former Republican Speaker Denny Hastert’s seat – a seat previously held by Republicans for generations. In 2008, Jim also provided strategy and advertising for the Democratic Senate Campaign Committee’s successful independent expenditure effort to unseat the longest serving Republican in the Senate, Sen. Ted Stevens of Alaska.

In 2006, Jim led the campaign team to elect Rep. Patrick Murphy, D-Pa., ousting incumbent Mike Fitzpatrick in one of the nation’s most contested House races to become the first and only Iraq War veteran elected to Congress. Murphy, a 33-year-old first-time candidate, was outspent by $2.5 million yet still defeated a well-liked incumbent in one of the tightest contests in the country – winning by just over 1,500 votes.

Jim helped devise strategy and advertising for the DSCC in Virginia in 2006. With more than $6 million in advertising, Jim’s efforts helped Sen. Jim Webb defeat George Allen – handing Democrats control of the Senate. During the 2006 midterm election, Jim managed DSCC advertising in Montana against Republican Sen. Conrad Burns, helping set the stage for his defeat. Jim also served as a communications consultant to the DNC.

Prior to joining SKDK, Jim served as campaign manager for Sen. Chuck Robb, D-Va.; chief of staff to Gov. Bob Miller, D-Nev.; and campaign manager for the 1994 re-election campaign of Sen. Richard Bryan, D-Nev.

As a former Senate communications director and chief of staff for a member of Congress, Jim has a rare depth and breadth of political experience that began with advance work. Jim was lead advance for Mondale for President in 1984 as well as the Carter/Mondale campaign and the Office of the President in 1980. Jim, an Army veteran, was assigned to the White House from 1976-1979.